Big Beer Efficiency

Post #1 made 10 years ago
Hi, wondering if anyone has some insight on increasing the efficiency when using a large grain bill?

I'm pretty new to AG brewing but have been getting 75% efficiency or above so far. Wanting to try an imperial stout at around 9% abv and BIABacus is showing 62% efficiency which is a big drop.

Is it best to increase water volume to get a thinner mash and boil for longer to get down to the volume you want?

Or is batch sparging / rinsing the bag the way to go?

Or just compensate with a bit more grain?

Any thoughts would be appreciated Cheers

Post #2 made 10 years ago
AFewTooMany,

If brewing a large beer worries you because of lower efficiency (or BIAB weight) try doing what I do. (no! Not stumble and fall!) Split the batch and do a 90 minute mash each time. No chill the first batch and add it back to the kettle after the second mash is done. Boil both together down to your expected amount.

Yes I know! You will have to figure out how much water to use and it seems like a botched brew. It does work to lessen the wort density to promote better conversion and efficiency. I am a "seat of the pants" type flyer err..... I mean "seat of the pants" type brewer. I don't like conventional thinking.

You can compensate with more grain and one boil. It's up to you. "Is it time, work or money you want to save?"
tap 1 Raspberry wine
tap 2 Bourbon Barrel Porter
tap 3 Czech Pilsner
tap 4 Triple IPA 11% ABV

Pipeline: Mulled Cider 10% ABV

http://cheesestradamus.com/ Brewers challenge!
    • SVA Brewer With Over 100 Brews From United States of America

Post #3 made 10 years ago
Welcome aboard AFTM,

All other things being equal, the only difference between a big brew and a small brew is that the grain is being washed with less water in a big brew so you can't get it as clean (i.e. it is less efficient). Sparging won't make any difference as you'll still be using the same amount of water at the end of the day.