Strange Brett problem

Post #1 made 8 years ago
Hi everyone

I'm relatively new to brewing. I started about 2 months ago and have had 5 brew days already. I'm loving it. I jumped straight into BIAB and was eager to brew a wide variety of beer. Although in hind sight I was pretty overzealous...

The problem I have is I brewed up a basic IPA 5 days ago with an OG of 1.060 but the Wyeast 5526 Brett I used isn't starting. The weird thing is I took a sample two days ago to get a hydrometer reading and left the sample next to the fermenter to check for changes. A day later the sample had started fermenting and read 1.040! It had a nice yeasty head and everything.

I upped the temps last night to 23c and have been stiring the wort daily to try kick things off but I'm really stuck for what to do.

I should also say I didn't make a starter for the liquid yeast. I followed the directions on the packet which didn't state I needed to. Of course from now on I will deffinately be making starters!

Do you guys have any ideas what I can do to start things off? I'm almost tempted just to pitch US05 and be done with it.
    • SVA Brewer With Over 50 Brews From Australia

Post #3 made 8 years ago
So what likely happened was that your sample got infected with a wild yeast strain floating around in the air. I have used brett but have always initially fermented with a standard strain first and then add the Brett after the beer was done fermenting. Brett can ferment the complex sugars that ordinary yeast stains can't but it takes a long time for it to work. You need to take this into consideration before bottling your brew: I typically leave my brett beers in the fermenter for 6-12 months before bottling. This reason being is that if you bottle and then let them sit for a few months, the brett continues to work and you eventually get bottle bombs. If Noam is still hanging around here he may be able to elaborate further.