Cleaning & sanitising bottles?

Post #1 made 10 years ago
Hi all,

I wonder if anyone can offer advice on cleaning regimes for bottles..

For the last 3ish years I've rinsed bottles out straight after using them with water a few times prior to storing. I then sanitizer with starsan and then drain before refilling. I've never had a problem with this method but should I be scrubbing them as well? If so with what? Can the dishwasher do the job for me also?

Thanks all,
James

Post #2 made 10 years ago
Hi James, I've been doing the same for a few years without issue. If they get a good rinse after use they only need to be sanitized before filling. If you haven't got them get a vinator and bottling tree, cuts the process down to minutes

Sent from my XT890 using Tapatalk

Post #3 made 10 years ago
+1 what Lars says, I do exactly the same without any issues (so far), the vinator & tree are a godesnd.

I do use Brettanomyces as well though, so with those, and occasionally with all of them I will give a bleach soak for hours, rinse, and then Starsan etc.
G B
I spent lots of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I squandered
I've stopped drinking, but only when I'm asleep
I ONCE gave up women and alcohol - it was the worst 20 minutes of my life
    • SVA Brewer With Over 100 Brews From Great Britain

Post #5 made 10 years ago
I do much the same as you but on bottling day when I clean the bottles with sanitizer I half fill them with fluid, then using my battery operated electric drill, they get a quick scrub with the bottle brush.

Maybe just piece of mind but so far sogood
    • SVA Brewer With Over 50 Brews From Australia

Re: Re:

Post #6 made 10 years ago
bundy wrote:I do much the same as you but on bottling day when I clean the bottles with sanitizer I half fill them with fluid, then using my battery operated electric drill, they get a quick scrub with the bottle brush.

Maybe just piece of mind but so far sogood
You're obviously as mad as your namesake:)