second batch on new system

Post #1 made 7 years ago
ok, I am new to BIAB, been along time 3 vessel, but when designing my new tower I embraced BIAB

here is the problem, I missed my OG goal by >006 points, five gallon batch, that with a 5.2 ph

using 9 pounds of 2 row, and 2 pounds of rye malt, I expected a 1.056 after boil gravity

I mashed at 122 for 15, then t0 150 for 60

ok it is a blonde rye for summer lawn mower days drinking, I lifted the bag, sparged and then did a good squeeze

but still left >006 in the grain bag. 2 points I can live with but more than 6 is rough

any advice?
Temperance is for those who cannot hold their liquor :drink: :drink:
    • MVA Brewer With Over 100 Brews From United States of America

Re: second batch on new system

Post #2 made 7 years ago
Jamato, brewing as long as you have been, you already know what the proper crush size is for grain. You do not need to crush any finer for BIAB. I also assume your grain weight was accurate.
I would attribute the 0.006+ shortfall in OG mostly to your mash schedule.
See this for reference http://howtobrew.com/book/section-3/how ... ng-defined
You held temperature at 122 ºF for 15 minutes - that's in the proteolytic enzyme activity range at pH=5.2. As far as I know, that time and temperature combination does not contribute to OG.
Your mash at 150 ºF for 60 min gave what you got. A 90 minute mash would have given you more. So a 60 min mash doesn't quite reach your target. Take a look at the upper left graph here http://bit.ly/2pnFnSH and you will see that you missed out on the 30 minutes that might have given more Fermentable Sugars (FS).

No mash out?

One more thing, how long was the boil time? Using the BIABacus, we employ a (compared to 3V brewing) more dilute mash, so a 90 minute boil results in higher gravity than the common (elsewhere) 60 minute boil.