Induction and Resistance Burner Questions

Post #1 made 9 years ago
Hi Folks,

I'm new to this forum, but not new to brewing. I've been brewing for 20 years, but I am new to electric brewing and to BIAB. Both of these seem to offer enticing benefits. I hope I can realize those benefits.

I typically brew 3.5 US gallons (~13L), but occasionally brew a 5-gallon (19L) batch. I'm thinking of going with an induction burner, hooked up to 240 volts, and I will be sure to purchase an induction-ready kettle. I have a few questions, though, as summarized below. Any assistance is appreciated.

1. The kettle I plan to use is approximately 14" (~36 cm) in diameter. Every induction unit I've come across is smaller than that, which will result in an overhang of 1 - 2 inches (3 - 5 cm). Is it a problem to have such an overhang? It seems that some people don't like to have an overhang, but I'm not sure why, as long as the unit can handle the weight, and perform the task at hand.

2. Is there an induction unit whose induction coil is more than 6” (15 cm) in diameter? It seems that the induction coils in many commercially available units are only about 6” (15 cm) in diameter, even though the rest of the unit overall is much larger. Ideally, I would find one with a coil that is about 10 – 12” (25 - 30 cm) in diameter, so that it’s nearly the size of my brew pot. I prefer this so that I can crank up the power to get to boil quickly, but still minimize scorching from too small a heating area. I read an article by a guy who used a 3000-watt induction burner, and he said that even though he used a tri-clad pot, he still got some scorching on the bottom of the kettle when he cranked it up. He could see the scorching marks right where the induction coil was sitting beneath the pot. I figure a larger coil area will spread out the wattage to avoid scorching.